Indoor Bowls - a game for all

VOLUNTEER of the year

NZIB's Volunteer of the Year Award was introduced in 2012. It is for any unpaid administrator who has done an outstanding job during the previous 12 months.

Nominations close 30 September each year with the recipient being announced at the AGM.

2012 Aad van Leeuwen, Central Otago and Linda Mills, North Harbour
2013 Jenny Chapman, Waikato
2014 David Bullock, Canterbury
2015 Marjorie Mackay, Manawatu
2016 David Ross, Southland
2017 Josephine Wells. Auckland


2012: Joint winners: Aad van Leeuwen from Central Otago and Linda Mills from North Harbour. Aad has been involved with CO IBA for over 10 years in a variety of positions. He spends 100's of hours every year ensuring tournaments are run like clockwork and the results are processed and printed off within minutes of the last score card being handed in. Add is always looking for innovations to make things easier and has given outstanding service to the game.

Ex New Zealand representative Linda Mills has provided wonderful service to the North Harbour IBC over many years. It was Linda's initiative to have a sub-committee formed to undertake a comprehensive review off all aspects of the Centre including where the sport was headed and she also currently acts as Raffle and Social Convenor for the Centre.

2013: Jenny Chapman, for her work as Waikato's Sport Development Manager. She coordinated a very successful introduction of indoor bowls to over 600 students in addition to her role as District Secretary.

2014: David Bullock was the winner of this award. David had shown great leadership as Canterbury's President over a very difficult 4 year period which had allowed their Association to continue to function in post-quake mode. The fact that they were able to retain their membership numbers this year was extremely creditable. The CIBA hall's major fire in September has meant even more work for David finding halls around the province and he has spent many hours with the necessary programming and controlling of events.

2015: Marjorie McKay, Manawatu was the winner of this award that spoke of her impressive record both as a former NZ player and an administrator. She was the District's Patron, a Life Member and after 20 years Marg was still a junior selector and held together the junior development in the district.

2016: David Ross of Southland was the well-deserved winner of this award. He had been the Financial Controller for Southland IBC since 1999 and also sole coach/organiser of Southlands Young Spirit Club which caters for under 20 year olds. David's leadership skills and planning to detail are a major reason for the Centre to run so successfully.

2017: Josephine Wells, Auckland was the winner of this award. Known as Jo or Nana Jo to the younger members was 91 years of age. She still did a considerable amount of work for Western IBA and Auckland IBC where she has been Patron and Life member for many years. Even though she does not play the game any longer, Jo still works tirelessly behind the scenes, and donates many raffle prizes. Nigel urged all districts to next year give some recognition to their volunteers by nominating for this award. Other nominations received this year were of such high quality they will remain valid and will receive certificates acknowledging their contribution.